NZ Indoor Hockey Teams go head to head with Australia

NZ Indoor Hockey Team

NZ Māori Hockey players Oriwa Hepi, Stephen Atkinson and Tim Greenwood have represented the NZ Indoor Hockey team again this year at the Oceania Indoor World Cup Qualifiers.

New Zealand Indoor Teams go head to head with Australia for a spot at the upcoming FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup 2025, which will be played in Poreč, Croatia from 3-9 February 2025.

Unfortunately, New Zealand couldn’t get the results they needed but the games were incredibly close. With the indoor programme, NZ has come a long way over the last couple of years and will only continue to improve.

The results:

Men (lose series 2-1): 3-5, 2-4, 3-2
Women (lose series 1-0): 0-1, 3-3, 3-3

Women’s Squad
Tegan Buchanan (Otago), Grace Gibson (Manawatu), Oriwa Hepi (Bay of Plenty), Sophie Hildesley (North Harbour), Kathryn Moffitt (North Harbour), Beth Norman (Manawatu), Kirsten Pearce (North Harbour), Deanna Ritchie (North Harbour), Anna Roberts (Hawkes Bay), Arabella Sheild (Canterbury), Madeleine Smith (Bay of Plenty), Madeleine Williamson (North Harbour).
(TR) Hannah Cardno (Hawkes Bay) Emily Brun (Hawkes Bay)

Men’s Squad
Brennan Alexander-Parker (Hawkes Bay), Dean Armstrong (Waikato), Stephen Atkinson (Canterbury), Louis Beckert (Canterbury), Dave Green (North Harbour), Tim Greenwood (Waikato), Tim Neild (Waikato), Daniel Scanlon (Waikato), Matt Symonds (North Harbour), Benedict van Woerkom (Wairarapa), Maks Wyndham-Smith (Waikato), Jared Panchia (Auckland)