2023 Annual Strategic Planning Wānaga

Over the past four years, the Kaunihera has been convening for our Annual Strategic Planning Hui. This weekend, we gathered in Tauranga to work on the tasks related to the growth and sustainability of Māori Hockey. 


Treasurer – Tracy Edmonds, Secretary – Ethan Hohneck, Chairperson – Gail Ambler. Kaumatua Kahu and Joy Ripia, 

Delegates – Aroha Thompson and Jordan Edmonds (Waiariki), Tania Ambrosius (Te Waipounamu), Margi Kay (Tai Tokerau), Jarrod Thorne and Amanda Waitere (Waikato-Maniapoto), Dylan Kiriona and Nicola Pritchard (Tai Uru), Tina Bell-Kake (Snr Wahine Coach).


New Zealand Māori Hockey (NZMH) is currently reviewing its Strategic Plan. We are in the process of consulting with the community and encourage everyone to read the plan, share it, and provide feedback. The first survey will be released in April, and we aim to have a draft Strategic Plan completed by the end of July.

Incorporated Society

New Zealand Māori Hockey has successfully reinstated itself as an Incorporated Society, meeting the requirement for funding and support. This achievement is attributed to strong leadership and representation at the governance level. 


Fixtures have been scheduled for our senior and junior national teams, allowing them to compete nationally and internationally.

Efforts to raise awareness of Māori Hockey and its players through social media have been successful. Our national tournaments are now being broadcast nationwide and overseas. 

Hockey New Zealand

Lastly, we have established closer ties with Hockey NZ. We are now working in partnership with them, enabling NZMH to directly nominate service awards and life memberships to Hockey New Zealand. 

2023 Aotearoa Māori Sports Awards

The Aotearoa Māori Sports Awards evening coincides with our strategic planning wananga. It’s a time for the kaunihera members to celebrate their volunteer efforts throughout the year. The event serves as a reminder to our members to nominate deserving Māori Hockey candidates for their outstanding achievements throughout the year. Being listed as a nominee is a testament to one’s credibility and hard work, signifying a significant accomplishment.

Herewini Whanau Scholarship Award 

2024 recipients of the NZMH Herewini Whanau Hockey Scholarship were awarded to James Hickson and Brodie Cochrane were acknowledged during the awards ceremony.

NZ Māori Sports Awards Scholarships