Australian Country in Rotorua

Next weekend Australian Country take on NZ Maori Hockey in Rotorua.  The games between both Tane (Mens) & Wahine (Womens) teams guarantee action packed hockey.

These teams have a long standing history of fixtures between themselves dating back to 2002.  Both teams have come a long way in that time and will be going hard for the wins.

Australian Country are also invited to a Cultural Evening on the Saturday night.  All part of the fixture, experience, and respect between the two hockey bodies.


For more information visit our events


National Maori Representative Teams

From a great National Maori Hockey Tournament held in Rotorua comes some exciting prospects in our four national representative teams.

Watch this space for historical rep teams.


Waiariki Winners

Congratulations to Waiariki A Wahine and Waiariki A Tane teams for taking out both finals.

Great hockey all round and a great tournament.  Thanks Waiariki.


Australian Country vs NZ Maori Hockey

Australian Country are coming to New Zealand in April 2019.  They will be making their way from Wellington to Hawkes Bay to Rotorua to Auckland playing a number of games against chosen teams.  NZ Maori Hockey will be playing them in Rotorua over 13th & 14th April.


NZ Maori Hockey Tournament

The 2019 NZ Maori Hockey Tournament will be held in Tairawhiti, Gisborne.

For more details view the event.


Māori hockey stars do battle in Rotorua

During Labour Weekend Rotorua was the place to be for Māori sports enthusiasts.

While the New Zealand Māori Rugby League National Tuakana Tournament was on at Rotorua International Stadium, just down the road, at the Smallbone Park hockey turf, hockey players from all over New Zealand competed in the Aotearoa Māori Hockey Tournament.

There was a wealth of talent on display at the hockey tournament, including former New Zealand representatives and many age-group representative players.

In fact, there were enough rising stars involved to attract women’s Black Sticks coach Mark Hager to watch the finals yesterday.

[wc_button type=”primary” url=”″ title=”Visit Site” target=”blank” url_rel=”” icon_left=”” icon_right=”” position=”” class=””]view the article[/wc_button]


Australia Country vs NZ Maori Hockey – Game 1

Yesterday Australian Country played NZ Maori Hockey Men’s & Women’s teams.  The games were fast, intense, and full of excitement.


NZ Maori Men vs Australia Country Men ( 3 – 3 Draw)

NZ Maori Women vs Australia Country Women ( 1 – 2 Australian Country Women)


Australia Country vs NZ Maori Hockey – Game 2

Today NZ Maori Hockey take on Australian Country in game 2 of the series.  Yesterday the hockey was exciting and fast.  Expect the same today.




April 14, 2019 @ 10:30 am – 1:30 pm
Rotorua Hockey Association
Devon Street West

Australia Country vs NZ Maori Hockey – Day 2

Yesterday Australian Country played NZ Maori Hockey Men’s & Women’s teams in the second games of the series.  Like the previous games today’s games were fast, intense, and full of excitement.  Australian Country coming out ahead on both games.


NZ Maori Men vs Australia Country Men ( 0 – 5 Australian Country Men)

NZ Maori Women vs Australia Country Women ( 4 – 6 Australian Country Women)


Maori Masters players selected for Trans Tasman Challenge 2019

The 2019 New Zealand Hockey Masters Tournament was held in Hamilton this year in March.  82 teams from around the country participated in age group categories ranging from 35 to 65 years.  The tournament was held in a great spirit of the game with excellent skills on display and a lasting camaraderie with memories for everyone to share.  While the tournament is over now over for most players a few selected players will be putting on the black shirts to play Australia during April 2019 at the 2019 Trans Tasman Challenge.  Some of the Maori Masters players who were selected for higher honours are:


[wc_column size=”one-half” position=”first”]

Wahine Reps

35+ Women
Ana Gudsell – Takitimu
Natasha Leong – Waiariki
Tamara Dudley – Tamaki Makaurau / Te Waipounamu

40+ Women
Aroha Thompson – Waiariki
Diana Ratana – Takitimu
Janine Smith (Non-Travelling) – Takitimu
Leah Murphy – Takitimu
Shannon Shepherd – Taitokerau

45+ Women
Maera Mafileo – Tamaki Makaurau
Paulette Reidy-Davis – Tamaki Makaurau

50+ Women
Cheryl Pitman – Taitokerau
Louana Hohaia – Taitokerau
Marlene Nikora – Tairawhiti

55+ Women
Wendy Mackay – Aotea

60+ Women
Maree Leggoe
Peggy Shepherd – Taitokerau

65+ Women
Karen Knox
Margi Kay – Taitokerau
Raeleen De Joux
Suzanne Jackson (Non-Travelling) – Tamaki Makaurau
Tracy Edmonds (Coach) – Tamaki Makaurau


[wc_column size=”one-half” position=”last”]

Tane Reps

35+ Men
Harley Kopa – Tamaki Makaurau

40+ Men
Lance Workman – Takitimu

50+ Men
Michael Seymour – Takitimu

55+ Men’s Coach
Grant Hunt – Takitimu

60+ Men’s Coach
Bill Miles – Waikato-maniapoto
Gene Coates-Reid – Tamaki Makaurau




  2019 Trans Tasman Masters Challenge: Women’s Teams

  2019 Trans Tasman Masters Challenge: Men’s Teams